NCATA logo

The NC Open Academic State Tournament is the capstone event for Quiz Bowl in North Carolina. After months of practice and regular competition it allows for teams across the state to compete for one final prize - the North Carolina State Quiz Bowl Championship.

This year’s tournament will be held March 15, 2008 at Hickory Ridge High School in Harrisburg, NC.  The Tournament Director is Hickory Ridge coach Andrew Crook.  Registration will be handled by Eric Grunden at Raleigh Charter High School. Please direct any questions about the site or details about that day to Andrew.


1st team:                                   $70
Additional teams:                      $50
Buzzer Discount:                       $10 per buzzer, max $20.

Sample questions can be obtained free by contacting Eric Grunden at Raleigh Charter HS.


A.        Schools are welcome to register as many as two teams for this competition, although further teams may be allowed by the tournament director.
B.         Varsity category: up to 6 team members between grades 9-12 as of the current school year.  Up to one additional team member may be added at the discretion of the competition director.
C.         Junior varsity category: up to 6 between grades 7-10 as of the current school year.
Please note, for this year, both JV and V teams will play on the same questions, but will play against opponents in their own category.  The questions may be tougher for the young people in this group, especially the mathematics questions.

The game format is an adaptation of rules specified for the Ohio Academic Competitions state championship.  The original version of these rules can be accessed online at .

We currently expect 6 preliminary rounds of play with an 8 team playoff, though the playoff field will be expanded to 16 if attendance warrants. A tentative schedule is shown below:

7:30 to 8:30 am             
8:45 to 9:15 am             
12:00 noon                   

12:45 pm            


On-site registration
Team meeting
Preliminary Round 1
Preliminary Round 2
Preliminary Round 3
Preliminary Round 4
Preliminary Round 5

Lunch break

Preliminary Round 6
Quarterfinal Round 7
Semifinal Round 8
Championship Playoff 10